Winter Reading: Award Winners

So many awards! If you’re looking for an award-winning book to enjoy during Winter reading, here’s a partial list of books that won awards this year. Each of the following books was written for adults and won an award in 2022.

Many of these titles can be used to check other boxes on your card too! There are science fiction award-winners, westerns, books written by women and BIPOC authors, and even some non-fiction for your winter reading bingo. All are available at Adamstown Area Library.

The rabbit hutch / Tess Gunty — National Book Award 2022

Trust / Hernan Diaz — Kirkus Prize 2022

The book of form and emptiness / Ruth Ozeki — Women’s Prize for Fiction 2022

The other black girl : a novel / Zakiya Dalila Harris — American Book Award 2022

Covered with night : a story of murder and Indigenous justice in early America / Nicole Eustace — Pulitzer Prize 2022: History

Invisible child : poverty, survival & hope in an American city / Andrea Elliott — Pulitzer Prize 2022: General Nonfiction

A desolation called peace / Arkady Martine — Hugo Award for Best Novel 2022. Locus Award: SF Novel 2022

A master of djinn / P. Djèlí Clark — Nebula Award for Best Novel of 2021. Locus Award: Best First Novel 2022. Compton Crook Award 2022.

Bonus Title: My heart is a chainsaw/ Stephen Graham Jones — Shirley Jackson Winner 2022. Bram Stoker Award 2022. Locus Award: Horror Novel 2022


Razorblade tears / S.A. Cosby — Macavity Awards: Best Mystery Novel 2022. Barry Awards: Best Mystery/Crime Novel 2022. Hammett Award 2021.

Arsenic and adobo / Mia P. Manansala — Macavity Awards: Best First Mystery Novel 2022

The removed : a novel / Brandon Hobson — Western Heritage Awards (Wrangler Award): Novel 2022

Dark sky : a Joe Pickett novel / C.J. Box — Spur Awards: Best Western Novel 2022

The Orchard House / Heidi Chiavaroli — Carol Award Winner 2022 (historical)

A piece of the moon / Chris Fabry — Carol Award Winner 2022 (contemporary)

The prince of spies / Elizabeth Camden — Carol Award Winner 2022 (historical romance)

All that really matters / Nicole Deese — Carol Award Winner 2022 (romance)


How to Play Winter Reading Bingo

Print a BINGO Card